July 10, 2016


Pine Hill Project - Lucy Kaplansky & Richard Shindell
Field Report
Lloyd Cole


















Field Report







Home (Leave the Lights On)





Lloyd Cole

Are You Ready to be Heartbroken?



Pay for It



It’s Late


The Pine Hill Project




Rain Just Falls



I Live on a Battlefield



Open Book



Sweetest Thing



I Know You Rider



All I’ve Ever Known



Southern Drawl



I Had it All



Nothing to Me Now



Can’t Take You with Me



Like a Wind



All the Time


Larry Groce & Co.

The Other Side to this Life

Press Release

Bahamas - Recording under the name Bahamas, Afie Jurvanen is a Finnish-Canadian from Barrie, a working class town in rural Ontario. Since 2009, he's been writing songs that are framed with dreamy, minimalist arrangements. His 2011 release, “Barchords” was a minor masterpiece of blue-eyed, gospel-soul run through a ‘60s mindset, and executed with nothing less than exquisite taste. His current release is titled “Bahamas is Alfie” and is further proof of Jurvanen’s enormous talent as a songwriter, guitarist and master of melodic hooks. 


The Pine Hill Project - As solo artists, singer/songwriters Lucy Kaplansky and Richard Shindell have been making critically acclaimed albums since the early 1990s, and each have contributed harmonies to every one of those albums. But with the exception of 1998’s one-off “Cry Cry Cry” album with Dar Williams, the two have never made an album together. As The Pine Hill Project, Kaplansky and Shindell have released “Tomorrow You're Going,” an Americana masterwork produced by multi-instrumentalist and two-time Grammy Award winner Larry Campbell (known for his work with Levon Helm, Bob Dylan's touring band, and a sideman for Sheryl Crow and Willie Nelson). The album also features bassist Byron Isaacs, pianist Bill Payne (Little Feat), and drummer Dennis McDermott.  For the two, the music - drawn from songwriters and bands as diverse as Greg Brown, Nick Lowe, U2, and Little Feat - represents a return to the spirit that set them on their creative paths - a place where where Americana, Folk, Country, Pop, and Roots Music meet. 


PHOX - Hailing from Baraboo, WI, Phox is a seven-piece band that specializes in “a heady mix of polyrhythmic, psych-tinged art-rock and sugary, soulful indie pop that falls somewhere between Feist and Monty Python.” The group was formed in 2011 around the talents of longtime friends Monica Martin, Matt Holmen, J. Sean Krunnfusz, Davey Roberts, Matteo Roberts, and Zach Johnston, all of whom met in high school. The group became a fixture in the midwest before signing with Brooklyn-based indie label Partisan Records. The band’s self-titled debut was released in 2014. 


Field Report - The six-piece Field Report is led by Chris Porterfield, who began his career with the band DeYarmond Edison that included Justin Vernon/Bon Iver and Megafaun. After that band dissolved in 2006 - and his bandmates went on to success - Porterfield stayed in Wisconsin where he began writing and recording his own songs. In 2011, he recorded the set of songs at Bon Iver’s April Base studio. Rolling Stone subsequently hailed the band as “poised to break out in 2012” as did SPIN, Pitchfork, and Stereogum. After one of the pre-released tracks from the album, “Taking Alcatraz,” launched into the top 10 most downloaded blog tracks worldwide, Field Report was offered an opening spot on the national Counting Crows tour after lead singer Adam Duritz heard the songs. The band has provided the entire “Taking Alcatraz” LP as a free, digital download on its website.


Lloyd Cole - Between his work with the Commotions and his eclectic solo releases, Brit Lloyd Cole is one of the most articulate of the post-punk songwriters. Cole formed the Commotions in 1982 while studying philosophy at the University of Glasgow and the band’s 1984 debut, “Rattlesnake,” featured the breakout “Perfect Skin.” Following 1987's “Mainstream,” Cole disbanded the Commotions and moved to New York City where he joined forces with drummer Fred Maher, guitarist Robert Quine and up-and-coming singer/songwriter Matthew Sweet on bass. His 2001 release, “The Negatives,” featured collaborations with Adam Schlesinger (Fountains of Wayne, Ivy), Jill Sobule, and Michael Kotch (Vitamin C, Eve's Plum). Cole resurfaced in 2004 with the home-recorded “Music in a Foreign Language” LP while “Standards,” released in 2013, again included Maher and Sweet. The same year, he released “Selected Studies, Vol. 1" with Krautrock legend Hans-Joachim Roedelius. In 2014, Cole returned to an electric format with Lloyd Cole and the Leopards which was followed by a solo tour supporting “Standards.” This month marks the release of the six-disc box set, “Lloyd Cole and the Commotions Collected Recordings 1983-1989.”