February 19, 2019


Bettye LaVette
Joan Osborne
Chris Smither
Nick Moss Band feat. Dennis Gruenling






Chris Smither

Nobody Home



Down to the Sound



The Blame’s on Me



*By the Numbers*





Julie Adams

*Nothin’ but a Breeze*


Joan Osborne

Quinn the Eskimo



*Spanish Harlem Incident*



Highway 61 Revisited



Tryin’ to Get to Heaven



Tangled Up in Blue




Buckets of Rain



Masters of War


The Nick Moss Band

The High Cost of Low Living



Note on the Door



*Count on Me*



Get Your Hands Out of My Pockets


Bob Thompson

*Drown in My Own Tears*


Bettye LaVette

Things Have Changed



It Ain’t Me Babe



Political World



Emotionally Yours



The Times They Are A-Changin’




Do Right to Me Baby



Larry Groce & Company

See That My Grave is Kept Clean



*Podcast Only*

Recorded on February 25, 2018

This podcast does not include the Bettye LaVette performance. Hear that segment at  NPR Music.


Press Release


Performing songs from her TENTH ALBUM "THINGS HAVE CHANGED" FOR THE FIRST TIME! Her first album on a major label in nearly 30 years, legendary soul singer BETTYE LAVETTE takes on the songs of BOB DYLAN with the grit and experience that makes her one of the greatest living soul singers. THINGS HAVE CHANGED is a masterpiece of interpretation of one of the greatest songwriters alive, by one of the greatest soul singers alive. Keith Richards and Trombone Shorty guest on the Steve Jordan-produced album, which is set for release on Verve Records on March 30, 2018.

On Songs of Bob Dylan, Joan Osborne unleashes her sizable gifts as a vocalist and interpreter upon The Bard’s celebrated canon. With performances honed by the time Osborne spent polishing them during “Joan Osborne Sings The Songs Of Bob Dylan” —  two critically acclaimed two-week residencies she performed at New York City’s Café Carlyle in March 2016 and 2017, the seven-time Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum-selling singer and songwriter, whom The New York Times has called “a fiercely intelligent, no-nonsense singer,” winds her supple, soulful voice around Dylan’s poetic, evocative lyrics, etching gleaming new facets in them along the way.

CALL ME LUCKY is the new record from Chris Smither and is his first set of brand new originals in six years (release date: March 2018 on Signature Sounds/Mighty Albert). Recorded at the gorgeous Blue Rock Studio in the Texas foothills.  Packed with Smither trademark songs that offer commentary on the human condition with a wink of an eye and pulls from deep in the soul and a couple of surprise covers that remind us of Chris’ deftness as a song interpreter as he makes the songs his own.  CALL ME LUCKY features longtime producer and multi instrumentalist David Goodrich, drummer Billy Conway (Morphine), Matt Lorenz (aka The Suitcase Junket), Mike Meadows, and engineer Keith Gary. They went into the session to record ten songs. What they ended up with is a double record: Disc 1 features the eight originals and two covers they started with; Disc 2 catapults some of the very same songs into another dimension. Essentially Smither covering Smither.

Chicago guitarist, vocalist and songwriter Nick Moss is a bona fide bluesman down to his soul, a 30-year veteran of the city’s take-no-prisoners blues scene. Moss paid his dues gigging in Chicago’s rough and tumble West and South side blues clubs under the tutelage of some of the city’s greatest blues luminaries. Blues Revue says, “Nick Moss is at the top of the blues world...ambitious and intense...He can play traditional blues with the best.” New Jersey’s Dennis Gruenling is considered among today’s best blues harmonica players. His high-energy, full-throttle playing has earned him comparisons to the late James Cotton. Living Blues says, “Dennis Gruenling is a contemporary harmonica master...impressive, genuine and fresh-sounding.” Now, recording together for the first time, The Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling makes their Alligator Records debut with The High Cost Of Low Living, a dream come true for both musicians.